Conference in France


Final Program (with presentations online)


Tuesday 17 November 2015


08:30 – 09:00         Registration

09:00 - 09:30          Opening Session

Welcome address

Pascal Barthelemy, Executive Vice-President Innovation, strategy, programs (IFPEN)


The OCTAVIUS Project: Paul Broutin, OCTAVIUS Project Coordinator (IFPEN)


09:30 – 12:30         First Generation Capture Processes – Part 1

Chair: Philip Lodrup Fosbol (DTU)


Effect of solvent degradation on the CO2 capture process: Purvil Khakharia (TNO)  and Thor Mejdell (SINTEF)

Models and tools for integration of the capture plant and power plant: Philip Lodrup Fosbol (DTU)

Reclaiming: Vladimir Volkov (TIPS)


10h45 – 11h15      Coffee Break      


Process analytical techniques: Stuart Bowden (DOOSAN)

EnBW Pilot plant operation in Heilbronn: Alexander Rieder (EnBW)

EDF Pilot plant operation in Le Havre: Myriam Louis-Louisy (EDF)


12:30 – 14:00         Lunch


14:00 – 16:00         First Generation Capture Processes – Part 2 

Chair: Peter van Os (TNO)


Dynamic Modelling and Flexibility:

Dynamic modelling of the Brindisi and the Heilbronn pilot plants: Thor Mejdell (SINTEF)

Flexibility studies in the Brindisi pilot: Hanne Kvamsdal (SINTEF)

Integration options for first generation capture processes: Thibaut Neveux & Jean-Florian Brau (EDF)


Guidelines for first generation processes:

Guidelines for demos, putting together the results from the OCTAVIUS project: Robin Irons (E.ON)


16:00 – 16:30         Coffee Break      


16:30 – 18:00         Second Generation Capture Processes  

Chair: Michel Gimenez (LAFARGE HOLCIM)


Development of the DMXTM process within the OCTAVIUS project: Matthieu Dreillard  (IFPEN)

Overview of capture technologies for post combustion capture studied in the HiPerCap project: Peter van Os (TNO)

CO2 capture by enzymes: Geert Versteeg (PROCEDE)


Wednesday 18 November 2015


08:30 - 12:00          Emissions of CO2 Capture Processes

Chair: Valerie Czop (EDF) and Daniel Clément (ADEME)


Health and environmental impact of amine based post combustion CO2 capture – the Norwegian case: Laila Iren Helgesen (GASSNOVA)

OCTAVIUS results: analysis methodology developed & round robin tests on liquid and gas samples: Isaline Fraboulet (INERIS), Ludovic Chahen (IFPEN), Andreas Grimstvedt (SINTEF)

DALMATIEN: Myriam Louis-Louisy (EDF) & Lorena Cuccia (PhD)

Understanding emissions from a post combustion CO2 capture plant- pilot plant atmospheric emissions and modelling: Merched Azzi (CSIRO)

Everything you always wanted to know about Aerosols but were afraid to ask: Earl Goetheer (TNO)


10:00 – 10:30           Coffee Break

Panel discussion: impact of emissions from amines processes?

Moderator: François Kalaydjian (IFPEN)


12:00 – 13:30         Lunch


13:30 – 15:30         CO2 Capture Benchmarking Studies                                            

Chair: Robin Irons (E.ON)


Methodology for benchmarking in the OCTAVIUS project: Sören Elhers (TUHH)

Techno-economic evaluation of CO2 capture in the South-African power sector: Gary de Klerk (ESKOM)

Benchmarking of first and second generation capture processes: Patrick Briot (IFPEN)

Methodology for benchmarking in the HiPerCap project: Jock Brown (DNVGL)


Panel discussion: to conclude on CO2 capture cost now and in the future

Moderator: Robin Irons (E.ON)


15:30 – 16:00         Coffee Break     


16:00 – 16:30         The ROAD Project: Robin Irons (E.ON)  


16:30 – 18:30         CO2 Capture in Process Industries

Chair: Eric Deconinck (ARCELORMITTAL)


The CO2 and the cement industry, levers, needs & uses: Michel Gimenez  (LAFARGE HOLCIM)

Solidia, the birth of a new binder: Günther Walenta (LAFARGE HOLCIM)

“Steel mill of the future" concept: Eric Deconinck (ARCELORMITTAL)

CO2 separation in steel industry coupled to a fermentation process: Salvatore Bertucci (ARCELORMITTAL)


Thursday 19 November 2015


8:30 - 12:00            CO2 Geological Storage

Chair: Florence Delprat-Jannaud (IFPEN) and Dominique Copin (TOTAL)


The Lacq integrated demonstrator: Dominique Copin (TOTAL)

The Peterhead CCS project: Wilfried Maas (SHELL)  

The Quest CCS project: Wilfried Maas (SHELL)

R&D status in EU: Nils Rokke (SINTEF)


10:30 – 11:00         Coffee Break   


Round Table: What the future will be?

Moderator: Jean-Pierre Deflandre (IFPEN)


12:00 – 13:30         Lunch


13:30 – 16:30         CCS Politics

Panel session: Place of CCS for GHG reduction, link with COP 21 Conference, new ETS?, Social acceptance, CCS demonstrators in Europe

Moderator: Andrew Purvis (Global CCS Institute)


Paul Bonnetblanc (MEEDE, French Government)

Vladimir Zuberec  (EU Commission)

Jude Kirton-Darling  (Member of the European Parliament)

Jonas Helseth (BELLONA)

Andrew Purvis (GCCSI)


16:30 – 16:45         Closing Address

Didier Houssin, Chairman and CEO (IFPEN)

 |  Legal information © IFP Energies nouvelles / IFP 2011